







# Agenda

### OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE FOR PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES

Date Friday 2 November 2007

**Time** 10.00 am

Venue Room 6 South Bucks District Council, Capswood, Oxford Road, Denham,

Bucks UB9 4LH

### PLEASE NOTE CHANGE OF VENUE

### 9.45 am Pre-meeting Discussion

This session is for members of the Committee only. It is to allow discussion of matters such as; what line of questioning should be pursued and by whom, which areas of discussion should be covered, what members wish to achieve from the meeting etc.

Please note the following visits have been arranged:-

Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Mental Health Trust on Thursday 8 November 09.30am until 12 noon to visit the Manor House site in Aylesbury.

### 10.00 am Formal Meeting Begins

Agenda Item		Time	Page No
1	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE / CHANGES IN MEMBERSHIP	10.00am	
2	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST To declare any personal and prejudicial interests	10.02am	
3	MINUTES of the meeting held on 5 October 2007 to be confirmed as a correct record	10.03am	1 - 4
4	PUBLIC QUESTIONS The Chairman of the Committee will receive questions from members of the public relating to health issues in the south of Buckinghamshire.	10.05am	
5	REPORT FROM SOUTH BUCKS GP PRACTICE The Committee Member representing South Buckinghamshire District Council will present a report from local GPs outlining the	10.20am	5 - 6

challenges facing primary care in the south of the county.

### **Councillor Maureen Royston**

### **6 SHAPING HEALTH SERVICES REVIEW**

10.30am 7 - 22

The Chief Executive of Buckinghamshire Hospitals Trust will provide Members with a report on the review of the Shaping Health Services (SHS) proposals. In 2004 the Public Health Overview and Scrutiny committee were statutory consultees on proposals for changes to key areas of health delivery in the County. Members will learn of the impact of the SHS recommendations, those that have achieved the anticipated outcomes and those where there is still work to be done. Specifically the Chief Executive will focus on the areas of Emergency Care and Women and Children Services.

### Anne Eden – Chief Executive Buckinghamshire Hospitals Trust

Dr Graz Luzzi – Medical Director

Damian Eustace – Divisional Chair of Womens and Childrens

#### 7 HOSPITAL ACQUIRED INFECTION

11.20am

The Committee will be updated on the current situation on the incidences of MRSA and Clostridium difficile in the Buckinghamshire Hospitals Trust.

### Dr Jean O' Driscoll Director of Infection Prevention and Control

## 8 CHILDREN'S AND ADOLESCENT MENTAL HEALTH 11.45am 23 - 52 SERVICES (CAMHS)

The Director for CAMHS, a Division of the Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Mental Health Trust, will present proposals to the Committee outlining a realignment of services in Buckinghamshire.

### **Yvonne Taylor Director CAMHS**

### 9 WEXHAM PARK AND HEATHERWOOD HOSPITALS 12.05pm 53 - 54 CONSULTATION

Members will be asked to agree to the formation and member representation on a Joint Overview and Scrutiny Committee with the East Berkshire Overview and Scrutiny committee to address the forthcoming consultation on Wexham Park and Heatherwood Hospitals. The terms of reference for the current Joint Committee are attached for information.

### 10 COMMITTEE UPDATE

12.15pm

An opportunity to update the Committee on relevant information and report on any meetings of external organisations attended since the last meeting of the Committee. This is particularly pertinent to members who act in a liaison capacity with NHS Boards and for District Representatives.

Buckinghamshire County Council, Mrs A Davies, Head of Legal and Democratic Services, County Hall, Aylesbury, Bucks HP20 1UA

### 11 DATE AND TIME OF NEXT MEETING

Friday 7 December 2007 at 10am.

12.30pm

For further information please contact: Clare Gray on 01296 383610 Fax No 01296 382538, email: cgray@buckscc.gov.uk

#### **Members**

Mr M Appleyard (C) Mr H Cadd
Mrs P Wilkinson MBE (VC) Mrs A Davies
Mrs M Aston Mr R Woollard
Mrs P Bacon

### **District Council Members**

Sir J Horsbrugh-Porter, Chiltern District Council Mrs W Mallen, Wycombe District Council Mr D Rowlands, Aylesbury Vale District Council Mrs M Royston, South Bucks District Council